Title Thumbnail

The Manifesto Project

Rebecca Hazelton Alan Michael Parker

275 pages
University of Akron Press
The poetic manifesto has a long, rich history that hasn't been updated until now. What does a poetic manifesto look like in a time of increased pluralism, relativism, and danger? How can a manifesto open a space for new and diverse voices? Forty-five poets at different stages of their careers contribute to this new anthology, demonstrating the relevance of the declarative form at the intersection of aesthetics and politics. The contributors also have chosen their own poems to accompany their manifestos-an anthologizing act that poets are never permitted. Invaluable for writers at any stage in their careers, this anthology may be especially useful for teachers of creative writing, both undergraduate and graduate.

Poets include: Lisa Ampleman, Sandra Beasley, Sean Bishop, Susan Briante, Stephen Burt, Jen Campbell, Kara Candito, Bruce Cohen, Erica Dawson, Sean Thomas Dougherty, Jehanne Dubrow, Rebecca Morgan Frank, Elisa Gabbert, Hannah Gamble, Noah Eli Gordon, David Groff, Cynthia Hogue, Doyali Farah Islam, Genevieve Kaplan, Vandana Khanna, Matthew Lippman, Beth Loffreda, Cecilia Llompart, Randall Mann, Corey Marks, Joyelle McSweeney, Erika Meitner, Orlando Menes, Susan Laughter Meyers, Jennifer Militello, Tyler Mills, Jacqueline Osherow, Emilia Phillips, Kevin Prufer, Claudia Rankine, Joshua Robbins, Kathleen Rooney, Zach Savich, Jeffrey Schultz, Martha Silano, Sean Singer, Marcela Sulak, Maureen Thorson, Afaa Weaver, Jillian Weise, Valerie Wetlaufer, and Rachel Zucker.
Author Bio
Rebecca Hazelton is the author of Fair Copy (Ohio State University Press, 2012), winner of the 2011 Ohio State University Press / The Journal Award in Poetry, and Vow, from Cleveland State University Poetry Center. She was the 2010-11 Jay C. and Ruth Halls Poetry Fellow at the University of Wisconsin, Madison Creative Writing Institute and winner of the \"Discovery\" / Boston Review 2012 Poetry Contest. In 2014, she won a Pushcart. Her poems have appeared in Poetry, The New Yorker, and Best American Poetry 2013 and 2015.Alan Michael Parker is the author of eight collections of poems, including The Ladder (Tupelo Press, 2016), and four novels, including Christmas in July (forthcoming from Dzanc Books, 2018). Douglas C. Houchens professor of English at Davidson College and faculty in the University of Tampa's low-residency MFA program, he has been awarded three Pushcart Prizes, two inclusions in Best American Poetry, the 2013 and 2014 Randall Jarrell Poetry Award, the Fineline Prize, the Lucille Medwick Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America, and the North Carolina Book Award. He can be found at www.alanmichaelparker.com.