Title Thumbnail

The James Tiptree Award Anthology 1

Sex, the Future, & Chocolate Chip Cookies

Karen Joy Fowler Pat Murphy

240 pages
Tachyon Publications Llc
Simultaneously exploring and expanding gender roles, the stories in The James Tiptree Award Anthology 1 are thought-provoking, imaginative, and highly provocative. Touching on the most fundamental of human desires, Tiptree Award?winning authors continually redefine social identities. This collection gathers short fiction, novel excerpts, and essays that were chosen by the Tiptree Award judges in 2003 and in previous years. In addition, the collection includes essays and commentary exploring the Tiptree legacy.

If you like The James Tiptree Award Anthology 1, wait until you see The James Tiptree Award Anthology 2 and 3.
Author Bio
Karen Joy Fowler, Pat Murphy, Debbie Notkin, and Jeffrey D. Smith are the editors of the James Tiptree Award Anthologies. They are members of the Tiptree Motherboard, a volunteer organization that administers the Tiptree Award at Wiscon, the annual feminist convention in Madison, Wisconsin. The Motherboard won the 2011 Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service to science fiction. The Tiptree Award was created by Pat Murphy and Karen Joy Fowler and has been given since 1991 for ?works of science fiction or fantasy that expand or explore one’s understanding of gender.”