Title Thumbnail

The Fate of Mice

Susan Palwick

218 pages
Tachyon Publications Llc
Gathering together the most outstanding short stories of Susan Palwick’s twenty-year literary career, The Fate of Mice is a powerful collection from an extraordinary fantasist. These unflinching tales, including three original pieces, consider a woman born with her heart exposed and the heartless killer who protects her, a wolf who is willingly ensnared by a devious academic, a businessman resurrected to play at politics, and an ingenious mouse dreaming beyond the laboratory.

With the perceptiveness of Joyce Carol Oates, the inventiveness of Ray Bradbury, and the emotional resonance of Alice Sebold, The Fate of Mice is a meditation on the very art of storytelling: mythic, beautiful, and often brutal, filled with authentic compassion.
Author Bio
Susan Palwick is the author of the acclaimed novels Flying in Place, The Necessary Beggar, Shelter, and Mending the Moon. She is a Rhysling and Crawford award recipient, and her novella GI Jesus was a finalist for the World Fantasy Award. Palwick is an Episcopalian lay preacher. She holds a doctoral degree from Yale and teaches as an associate professor of English at the University of Nevada.