Title Thumbnail

The Country Doctor's Choice

Maggie Bennett

320 pages
Allison & Busby Ltd
Set in the market town of Everham in Hampshire, from late autumn of 1962 to summer 1963, four interweaving stories overlap as time progresses. Tensions between the characters give rise to open conflicts which erupt in scandals that echo the Profumo affair which has shocked the nation; Everham is like a bubbling cauldron which boils over, resulting in changes in the lives of its residents.
Author Bio
Born in Hampshire, Maggie Bennett worked as a nurse and midwife until her retirement in 1991. She enjoyed modest successes with articles and short stories before the publication of her first romance novel in 1992. This novel won that year’s RNA New Writer’s Award and she went on to publish six more medical romances, all under her married name of Margaret Holt.