Title Thumbnail

Justice Bites

A Smith and Bauer Legal Thriller

9781648756160
300 pages
Severn River Publishing Llc
Overview

Washed-up, small-town lawyer Marko Bauer already has enough on his plate. And with his latest case, he may have bitten off more than he can chew.

Defending Allee Smith's cousin on what appear to be run-of-the-mill drug charges, Marko quickly discovers that the case is just the tip of the iceberg in their town's murky waters. The eye of the storm? The Yellow Lark restaurant, an eatery with more secrets than specials on the menu.

Allee, fresh out of the clink and trying to stitch her life back together, turns out to be the ultimate wingwoman. Dragged into the fray, she and Marko discover a thumb drive crammed with the kind of secrets that make people disappear.

They're playing with fire, and it's about to get hot.

In a town where truth is a commodity and the price of justice is steep, Marko and Allee are caught in a desperate race against time. Unraveling the town's secrets could be their path to redemption-or the road to disaster.

From Wall Street Journal bestselling author James Chandler and seasoned attorney Laura Snider comes Justice Bites. Perfect for fans of John Grisham and Michael Connelly.

Author Bio

Laura Snider is a practicing lawyer in Iowa. She graduated from Drake Law School in 2009 and spent most of her career as a Public Defender. Throughout her legal career she has been involved in all levels of crimes from petty thefts to murders. These days she is working part-time as a prosecutor and spends the remainder of her time writing stories and creating characters.

Laura lives in Iowa with her husband, three children, two dogs, and two very mischievous cats.

Wall Street Journal bestselling author James Chandler spent his formative years in the western United States. When he wasn't catching fish or footballs, he was roaming centerfield and trying to hit the breaking pitch. After a mediocre college baseball career, he exchanged jersey No. 7 for camouflage issued by the United States Army, which he wore around the globe and with great pride for twenty years. Since law school, he has favored dark suits and a steerhide briefcase. When he isn't working or writing, he'll likely have a fly rod, shotgun or rifle in hand. He and his wife are blessed with two wonderful adult daughters.