Title Thumbnail

A Compass for Deep Heaven

Navigating the C. S. Lewis Ransom Trilogy

Diana Pavlac Glyer

208 pages
Square Halo Books

Unlike more popular works like the Chronicles of Narnia and Mere Christianity, C. S. Lewis’s Ransom Trilogy is lesser-known and often perplexing. Out of the Silent Planet and Perelandra take readers on adventures through the heavens; That Hideous Strength delves deep into topics much closer to home. In the process, these books allude to everything from H. G. Wells and the World Wars to Medieval cosmology and Arthurian Legend; therefore, there is much to be gained from an introduction to Lewis's broad and eclectic interests.

Written to be accessible and useful to fans and scholars alike, A Compass for Deep Heaven provides the background information, historical context, and literary insight readers need to navigate the cosmos of Lewis’s science fiction. It does not merely inform; it shows how these contexts clarify key messages and reveal the real-world warnings hidden there.

Author Bio

Diana Pavlac Glyer is an award-winning writer who has spent more than 40 years combing through archives and studying old manuscripts. She is a leading expert on C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien; her book The Company They Keep changed the way we talk about these writers. Dr. Glyer teaches fulltime in the Honors College at Azusa Pacific University.

Julianne Johnson studied English, humanities, and graphic design at Azusa Pacific University and has since worked in book publishing and ministry near Los Angeles. She is the kids pastor at the West Covina campus of ONE&ALL Church. Her writing has appeared in several books, including Read Me, Los Angeles: Exploring L.A.'s Book Culture.