Title Thumbnail

Dead Sand

300 pages
Severn River Publishing Llc

When a young waitress is found dead at a New England beachside resort, a retired defense analyst with a mysterious past must uncover the truth behind her murder.

Lewis Cole thought he’d left his demons behind. He was looking for serenity, retiring from his high-stress Defense Department job to become a magazine columnist living in the New Hampshire coast.

But when a teenage waitress turns up dead, Cole finds himself thrust into action. There is something about this town, and the circumstances surrounding her death, that just doesn’t add up.

As Cole delves deeper into the shadowy underbelly of the coastal community, he must navigate a web of deceit and danger, making unlikely alliances in his desperate search for justice. Grappling with a past marked by tragedy, he will first have to confront his own darkness and self-doubt.

Can Lewis Cole catch a shadowy killer and find peace within himself? Or is he in way over his head?

Dive into the first thrilling novel in New York Times bestselling author Brendan DuBois’ Lewis Cole series. With a dark blend of mystery and page-turning twists, Dead Sand is a must-read for fans of James Patterson and Michael Connelly.

Author Bio
Brendan DuBois is the award-winning New York Times bestselling author of twenty-six novels including eleven in the Lewis Cole series. For the past few years, he’s been collaborating with James Patterson on novels including The First Lady, The Cornwalls Are Gone, The Summer House, Blowback, and Countdown. He has also published 200 short stories. His stories have won three Shamus Awards from the Private Eye Writers of America, two Barry Awards, two Derringer Awards, and the Ellery Queen Readers Award. In 2021 he received the Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer for Lifetime Achievement from the Short Mystery Fiction Society. He is also a “Jeopardy!” game show champion. He currently resides in New Hampshire.