Title Thumbnail

Retrograde Flaw

306 pages
Severn River Publishing Llc

In a world of high-tech deceit, where memories are weapons and truth is a fragile illusion, Detective Morgan Reed must decipher his own past to survive.

Detective Morgan Reed is back on the force, but the digital landscape he once knew has evolved into a treacherous realm of shadow games and shifting allegiances. Thrust into an investigation surrounding the enigmatic High Rock Holdings and Spectre Group, he soon discovers the Kraken-a next-gen tech weapon with chilling accuracy.

Yet, the deeper Reed digs, the more personal the stakes become, with ties to his own haunted past and a murdered friend, Dontae Black. Teamed with the astute Detective Natalie "Nat" De La Cruz, the duo unravels a tapestry of betrayal, crime rings, and covert tech conspiracies.

But as the truth edges closer, Reed must confront a harrowing question: In a world where trust is just a byte away from betrayal, who can you really believe?

From Raquel Byrnes and Wall Street Journal bestselling author Brian Shea comes Retrograde Flaw, where every digital footprint leads to an unexpected twist, and the line between ally and adversary is but a click away. A must-read for fans of Michael Crichton and David Baldacci.


Praise for the Memory Bank Thrillers:

"...a nerve-fraying thriller that blurs the line between memory and menace. A relentless journey into the dark underbelly of technology." -Jason Kasper, USA Today Bestselling Author of The Enemies of My Country

"Part police procedural, part technothriller, all action...a murder mystery where the thieves are after the only thing that is unique to each of us: our memories."-David Bruns, author of Command and Control

"...grabs you by the circuits and doesn't let go." -Dale M. Nelson, author of No Prayers for the Dying

"A clever blend of police procedural and speculative fiction, The Memory Bank is a well crafted whip-smart futuristic thriller. Exceptional!"-Bruce Robert Coffin, award-winning author of the Detective Justice novels

Author Bio
Raquel is the author of critically acclaimed suspense series, The Shades of Hope trilogy, Gothic duology, The Noble Island Mysteries, and epic Sci-Fi Steampunk series, The Blackburn Chronicles. She strives to bring intelligent characters with diverse backgrounds to the forefront of her stories.When she's not writing, she can be seen geeking out over sci-fi movies, reading anything she can get her hands on, and having arguments about the television series Firefly in coffee shops. She lives in Southern California with her husband, six kids, and beloved Huskies.Wall Street Journal bestselling author Brian Shea has spent most of his adult life in service to his country and local community. He honorably served as an officer in the U.S. Navy. In his civilian life, he reached the rank of Detective and accrued eleven years of law enforcement experience between Texas and Connecticut. Somewhere in the mix he spent five years as a fifth-grade schoolteacher. Brian's myriad of life experience is woven into the tapestry of each character's design. He resides in New England and is blessed with an amazing wife and three beautiful daughters.