Title Thumbnail

Death Be Not Proud

C F Dunn

384 pages
SPCK Group

‘"It would be so easy just to stay there, submerged and warm where the world couldn’t touch me and I would’t have to face tomorrow, or the next day, or the next. So easy. To let go. Painless. Quick."‘

Following the vicious attack that nearly killed her and reeling from the discovery that mysterious Matthew Lynes – the man with whom she has inadvertently and irresistibly fallen in love – is lying, historian, Emma D’Eresby flees the college in Maine for her ancient home town in England. With her she carries a precious Seventeenth-century journal and the secrets bound within its pages. Once home, she comes to terms with a shattering revelation, and, just when she thinks she has the answers, faces a future where past and present collide.

Set in England and in Maine, USA and steeped in history and atmosphere, Death Be Not Proud – the second book of The Secret Of The Journal series – continues the romantic mystery begun in Mortal Fire as Emma and Matthew reveal the turbulent truth of his past.

‘Dunn vividly evokes a range of characters and the tense and tender relationships between them.’ Fay Sampson, award-winning author, The Hunted Hare.

Author Bio
A natural born storyteller, Claire F. Dunn is the author of the award-winning Secret Of The Journal series. Studying medieval history at university, Claire followed a vocational route founding a specialist school dedicated to the needs of children with Dyslexia, Autism and related language difficulties. Returning to her academic roots to incorporate elements of history into her stories of romance, mystery and suspense, Claire began writing Mortal Fire - the first in The Secret Of The Journal series - in 2009, winning Gold in the ForeWord Book Of The Year Awards, 2012. She is currently working on a historical series set during the Wars of the Roses. Claire now writes full-time in the South-West surrounded by restless seas, ancient landscapes and wild, wide skies.